### **DEMOCRATIC PARTY OF LANE COUNTY**

## **Organizational Meeting**

Meeting held at OEA Hall - 2815 Coburg Road, Eugene, OR. 97408 Saturday, December 18, 2010

Chair, Charles Dalton, called the meeting to order at 10:10 AM.

Organization Chair, Christy Desermeaux, presented the Credential Report. There were 67 elected Precinct Committee Persons (PCPs) and three nominated PCPs present and credentialed at the Organizational Meeting. Rep. Phil Barnhart moved to accept the Credential Report. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

The Chair called for adoption of the Organizational Meeting Agenda. Christy Desermeaux moved to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

CJ Mann presented the Rules of the Organizational Meeting for the election of the four DPLC officers. CJ reported that only properly credentialed <u>elected</u> PCPs could vote for the four officer positions. Vicki Douglas moved to adopt the Rules as submitted. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

Rules Chair John Cuff reported that there were no changes to the DPLC bylaws and could stand as previously adopted.

### **Nomination and Election of Chair:**

Chair Dalton called for nominations for the position of DPLC Chair.

Christy Desermeaux nominated Matt Davis. Silver Mogart seconded the nomination. Mary Ann Holser nominated Skip Smith. Ron McMullin seconded the nomination.

Matt and Skip were each given time to speak followed by a question and answer session with the PCPs. At the end of the time allotted for the Q and A session, Matt Keating moved to extend the Q and A time for ten minutes. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

CJ Mann explained the voting process and the ballots were handed out to the PCPs. The ballots were distributed to eligible voters; and then collected and counted by the Ballot Counting Committee.

Ballot Counting Committee official, Larry Deckman, announced that Matt Davis was elected Chair of the DPLC.

#### **Nomination and Election of Vice-Chair:**

Chair Dalton called for nominations for the position of DPLC Vice-Chair.

Ron McMullin nominated Skip Smith. Sherry Moore nominated Julie Fahey

Skip and Julie were each given time to speak followed by a question and answer session.

The ballots were distributed to eligible voters; and then collected and counted by the Ballot Counting Committee.

Ballot Counting Committee official, Larry Deckman, announced that **Skip Smith** was elected Vice-Chair of the DPLC.

# **Nomination and Election of Secretary:**

Chair Dalton called for nominations for the position of DPLC Secretary.

Domini Stecker nominated Andrew Becker.

Andrew was given time to speak followed by a question and answer session.

Carol Dennis moved to elect **Andrew Becker** as secretary by acclamation. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

#### **Nomination and Election of Treasurer:**

Chair Dalton called for nominations for the position of DPLC Treasurer.

Matt Keating nominated Cathye Tritten.

Cathye was given time to speak followed by a question and answer session.

Carol Dennis moved to elect **Cathye Tritten** as treasurer by acclamation. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

Chair Dalton recessed the Organizational Meeting for House District Caucuses at 11:40 AM.

Chair Dalton reconvened the Organizational Meeting at 12:05 PM.

House District Chairs were called on to report result of the caucuses to elect new HD Chairs and Vice-Chairs.

House District 7 – There was no one present from HD7

House District 8 – Chair: Matt Keating

Vice -Chair: Julie Fahey

House District 9 – To be elected at a later date

House District 10 - To be elected at a later date

House District 11 - Chair: Richard Cundiff

Vice-Chair: Kevin Cronin

Vice-Chair: Becky Gladstone

House District 12 – Chair: Sheri Moore

Vice-Chair: Ron Craig

House District 13 – Chair: Ron McMullin

Vice-Chair: Jeree Anderson

House District 14 - To be elected at a later date

Chair Dalton recessed the Organizational Meeting for lunch at 12:15 PM.

Chair Dalton reconvened the Organizational Meeting at 12:50 PM.

Chair Dalton calls for the nomination of candidates for the 4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Committee Delegates and Alternates. Organizational Chair, Christy Desermeaux, explained the rules and process for the election in which all PCPs may participate and gender balance is required by DPLC bylaws. Nominations were made from the floor and candidates were allowed a short time to speak. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Ballot Counting Committee.

Ballot Counting Committee official, Larry Deckman, announced the results of the election:

### Congressional District 4 Delegates:

# **Congressional District 4 Alternates:**

Pat Riggs-Henson Becky Gladstone
Matt Davis Skip Smith

Laura Gillpatrick
Matt Keating
Richard O. Cundiff
Julie Fahey
Karin Radtke
Andrew Becker
Kevin Cronin
CJ Mann
Carleen Reilly
Gerry Rempel
Christy Desermeaux
Richard O. Cundiff
Karin Radtke
Kevin Cronin
Carleen Reilly

Chair Dalton calls for the nomination of candidates for the Democratic Party of Oregon State Central Committee Delegates and Alternates. Organizational Chair, Christy Desermeaux, explained the rules and process for the election in which all PCPs may participate and gender balance is required by DPLC bylaws. Nominations were made from the floor and candidates were allowed a short time to speak. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Ballot Counting Committee.

Ballot Counting Committee official, Larry Deckman, announced the results of the election:

### State Central Committee Delegates:

## **State Central Committee Alternate:**

Becky Gladstone Pat Riggs-Henson
Matt Davis Skip Smith
Carleen Reilly CJ Mann
Matt Keating Pat Reilly
Laura Gillpatrick Diane Sciacca
Silver Mogart Richard Cundiff

Denise Bean Female Alternate-To be determined

Gerry Rempel Dan Kinkler

<u>Organization Committee/Volunteers</u> –Vice Chair of Volunteers, Sloan Heermance, announced that there was another nominee for Precinct Committee Person:

Matt Dean – Matt was nominated by Denise Bean and seconded. The nomination carried unanimously.

Silver Mogart moved to adjourn the Organizational Meeting. Skip Smith seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

Chair Dalton adjourned the meeting at 2:33 PM.