DEMOCRATIC PARTY OF LANE COUNTY Central Committee Minutes

11/17/2016 – 131 E. 11th Ave, Eugene

The monthly meeting of the Democratic Party of Lane County Central Committee, held at 131 E. 11th Ave, on Thursday evening, November 17, 2016, was called to order at six minutes past seven p.m., Mr. Wig being in the Chair and noting a quorum, and Ms. Swenson Harris present as Secretary.

The agenda was adopted as presented.

The minutes were approved as amended.

The Treasurer's Report was received. The Party had \$25,505.43 in income and \$6,065.13 in expenses during the previous month, with a net gain of \$18,440.30.

The Budget Committee reported that the Party had \$76,321.77 in income for the year and \$56,394.84 in expenses, with a net gain of \$19,926.93. The General Fund balance is \$58,895.43.

The Chair reported that the Campaign Services Committee will hold a meeting after the first of the year to set policies for the upcoming election.

The Community Action Committee reported that the Party will hold a holiday party and volunteer appreciation event in December. Paperwork has been submitted for a booth at the Eugene Asian Celebration, the Party will partner with the DPO's Asian and Pacific Islanders Caucus.

The Fundraising Committee reported on the volunteer appreciation dinner.

The Organization Committee reported that the Party's Organizational Meeting will be held December 3. Mr. Thompson reported on the proposed Organizational Meeting Rules and Precinct Committee Person eligibility.

Ms. McKenney reported that Subcommittee for Membership will be adopting a new system for recording and tracking donations in the new year.

The Subcommittee for PCPs reported the names of previous nominees requesting to be appointed to the position of Precinct Committee Person: Niharika Sachdava, Sylvia Hart, Gina Garvase, Seth Rhodes, Keith Bunting, Bonny Bettman-McCormack, Christopher Dolan, Eric Tornt, Caroline Doss, Leif Holt, Hannah Argento-McCurdy, Jacob Morgan, Sean Shivers, Mia Bacher, Rachel Johnston, Anna Pena, Terese Row, David Monk, Cody Climer, Aaron VabDerlip, Dena Fleming, Tim Blood, Suzanne O'Shea, Nick Chase, Ronald Blanton, Karen Freeman, Shade Streeter, Derek Boyd, Madison Moskowitz, John Fritz, Alexander Starr, Erin Satterhwaite, Keely Benedict, Angelique Orman, Cameron Warnken, Arianna White, Hannah Hamling, Ronald Wold, Tiana DeLaRosa, Nate Belcik, Kevin Arelano Garcia, Gunnar Olsen, Simone Hally, Sydney Kissinger, Michael Gotlieb, Sophia DeLorretto-Chudy, Edward Layman, Alfredo Gormenzano, Joy Thomson, and Emily Mooney were appointed.

The Subcommittee for PCPs reported the names of people requesting nomination for the position of Precinct Committee Person: Nicholas Engle, who was nominated by Mr. Barber and seconded; Rebecca Ledingham, who was nominated by Mr. Barber and seconded; Teresa Mueller, who was nominated by Ms. McRaven and seconded; Teresa Burke, who was nominated by Mr. Tresenfeld; Charles Crawford, who was nominated by Ms. McRaven and seconded; Shawn Winkler-Rios, who was nominated by Mr. Pruce-Zimmerman and seconded; Andrea Phelps, who was nominated by Ms. McRaven and seconded; and Jason Marsh, who was nominated by Mr. Barber and seconded.

The Platform Committee reported on Resolutions 2016.9 and 2016.10.

The Platform Committee moved to adopt the resolution 2016.9. Mr. Swanson moved to strike the words "already very well off" from the 5th Whereas of the resolution. The motion was seconded by Mr. Rempel and passed. Mr. Neely moved to amend the 9th Whereas to strike the word "needy" and replace it with "underserved" and to strike the words "for the well off". The motion was seconded by Mr. Swanson and passed. The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The Platform Committee moved to adopt Resolution 2016.10. Mr. Swanson moved to amend the 13th Whereas to read "if private firms can override indigenous peoples" opposition to such projects in North Dakota, they can do the same in Oregon;". The motion was seconded by Mr. Barber and passed. Mr. Neely moved to strike "the Tribe" and replace it with "Standing Rock Sioux Tribe" in the 2nd Whereas. The motion was seconded by Mr. Allen and passed. The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The PR Committee reported that button, bumper sticker, and sign sales have been incredibly successful. Ms. Keizer reported on the Party's social media team.

Mr. Wilde reported that the Rules Committee has completed a draft of the Organizational Meeting Rules for consideration by the Central Committee.

The SCC Delegation reported that the SCC meeting will be held on December 10 and 11 in Portland.

The 4th CD Delegation reported that the 4th CD meet will be held on November 20 in Albany.

The Select Office Committee reported that the Committee is working to clean the office in the aftermath of the election.

As New Business, the Committee considered the adoption of the proposed 2016 Organization

Meeting Rules. The Rules Committee moved to adopt the rules. The rules were adopted unanimously.

Upon unanimous consent, the Chair adjourned the meeting at seventeen minutes past eight o'clock.

Signed:	Approved:
	//
Χ	
Celine Swenson-Harris	
Secretary	Χ